français / english / 创瞰巴黎

L’impression 3D révolutionne aussi la contrefaçon

Business March 13th, 2017, Kimiya Shams / Conseillère juridique, Devialet

L'impression 3D sera peut-être une révolution des modes de production, permettant la personnalisation de masse et une redéfinition en profondeur des rôles respectifs de l'industrie et des consommateurs. Mais pour l'heure elle ouvre surtout un boulevard aux faussaires. Pire: elle pourrait se traduire par une ouverture du métier de contrefacteur à de nouveaux acteurs - une ubérisation de la contrefaçon!

Une révolution peut en cacher une autre: de l’industrie 4.0 à l’industrie 4.1

Business November 30th, 2015, Martina F. Ferracane / Chercheuse, European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)

La nouvelle ère de la production industrielle, qu'on nomme industrie 4.0, s'appuie sur des systèmes cyber-physiques. On voit déjà se profiler l'industrie 4.1, avec des consommateurs appelés à jouer un rôle de plus en plus grand dans la production.

Stratégies pour l’Internet des objets

Business September 8th, 2015, Sandy Verma / Senior Director of Asia Pacific for Internet of Things Solutions

L'Internet des objets est un réseau d'objets physiques connectés via l'Internet. C'est aussi une expression en vogue pour décrire un nouveau paysage technologique qui transforme la façon dont nous vivons et travaillons. Mais son potentiel est-il bien compris, et sommes-nous prêts pour cette nouvelle vague de la révolution industrielle?

Comment Elon Musk veut transformer deux industries (et le XXIe siècle)

Industries April 30th, 2015, Dan Abelow / Inventeur, consultant en technologie et auteur

En février, Elon Musk prédisait que Tesla Motors allait réaliser ce qu'aucun constructeur automobile n'avait jamais fait, en atteignant une capitalisation boursière de 700 milliards de dollars en 2025. Pour mettre cela en perspective, Apple est devenue la société la plus cotée de l'histoire lorsqu'elle a atteint une valeur de marché de 700 milliards en novembre 2014. Et si l'on se réfère à l'industrie automobile, cette somme peut être comparée à la valeur des cinq plus grands constructeurs mondiaux. Ensemble, Volkswagen, BMW, Ford, Toyota et Honda ne pèsent que 522 milliards. Elon Musk est-il devenu fou? Ou a-t-il une stratégie secrète? Essayons de la décrypter.

Impression 3D et propriété intellectuelle: un problème, des solutions

Industries December 16th, 2014, Fatima Ghilassene / Chargée de recherche, Institut national de la propriété industrielle

Les technologies de la fabrication 3D ne sont pas une nouveauté. Ce qui est nouveau, c'est leur accessibilité croissante avec la commercialisation de machines de petite taille à un prix abordable. Cette démocratisation fascine et inquiète créateurs et acteurs politiques. Parfois présentée comme le vecteur d'une troisième révolution industrielle, l'impression 3D soulève des questions quant au respect des droits de propriété intellectuelle qu'elle risque de fragiliser. Des solutions techniques et juridiques peuvent accompagner l'expansion de son utilisation. Mais un changement de paradigme s'impose.

L’économie circulaire bientôt au centre du jeu?

Business November 12th, 2014, Yves Legrain / Chercheur, ancien membre du Conseil économique, social et environnemental

Dans le monde industriel, l'économie circulaire fait l'objet d'une attention de plus en plus vive. Certaines entreprises trouvent dans le recyclage l'opportunité de développer de nouvelles activités, d'autres cherchent dans l'éco-conception un moyen de reconstituer leurs marges, d'autres enfin y voient une occasion de repenser en profondeur leur organisation. L'image de marque n'est pas absente de ces préoccupations, mais l'économie circulaire est désormais un sujet industriel. Pour autant, beaucoup reste à faire pour la rendre pleinement opérationnelle. L'enjeu aujourd’hui est de l'amener à maturité.

Les composants électroniques ont envahi nos appareils domestiques, nos voitures, nos outils de communication et désormais tous les objets de nos vies privées et professionnelles. Non contents de se multiplier, ils doivent être toujours plus petits, consommer moins d'énergie et coûter moins cher. Pour les fabriquer, les industriels des semi-conducteurs ont perfectionné la technologie du silicium. Mais ils toucheront bientôt aux limites de la physique des solides. Pour franchir cette étape, ils planchent d'ores et déjà sur de nouvelles approches de l'électronique à l'échelle nanométrique.

Dans les pays qui ont fondé leur prospérité sur la production, toutes les découvertes et innovations susceptibles de faire baisser les coûts de production font l'objet d'une attention passionnée. C’est le cas, depuis 2007, du gaz et du pétrole de schiste, qui ont remis l'industrie américaine dans la course à la compétitivité face à des pays spécialisés de longue date dans les bas coûts. La question se pose aujourd'hui de savoir si la technique d'impression en trois dimensions est susceptible d'avoir un impact comparable.

La révolution des MEMS

Industries December 9th, 2013, Benedetto Vigna / Directeur général, Groupe de produits analogiques, MEMS et capteurs, STMicroelectronics

Les microsystèmes électromécaniques sont au monde des smartphones et des tablettes ce que le transistor fut à l'électronique grand public dans les années 1960. Il y en a partout ! Une série de ruptures technologiques et de paris industriels a permis de faire exploser un marché. Témoignage de l'intérieur par un des acteurs-clés de cette révolution, Benedetto Vigna.

On le sait depuis la découverte des vertus électroniques du silicium aux États-Unis à la fin des années 30 : un nouveau matériau peut changer le monde. Parce qu'il pèse moins lourd, qu'il est plus solide, apporte de meilleures performances thermiques ou acoustiques, dure plus longtemps, ou bien facilite la production et l'assemblage. Régulièrement, la communauté scientifique annonce un nouveau matériau miracle pour succéder au silicium et les années 2010 bruissent déjà d'annonces sur un candidat très sérieux : le graphène, un cristal bidimensionnel constitué d'une seule couche d'atomes de carbone et crédité d'un potentiel exceptionnel.

L’ère de la micro-fabrication

Business January 4th, 2013, Chris Anderson / Président, 3DRobotics

Tout comme Internet a permis à n'importe qui de se muer en entrepreneur, les technologies d'aujourd’hui ont donné naissance à un mouvement de micro-fabrication, où n'importe quel inventeur peut se transformer en industriel. Chris Anderson explique dans son dernier livre que des imprimantes 3D désormais abordables jusqu'au crowdsourcing de la conception, tous les éléments sont réunis pour créer les conditions d'une petite révolution industrielle.

Stratégies industrielles de la chimie verte

Industries December 23rd, 2011, Pascal Juery / Directeur général adjoint, groupe Rhodia

Le thème de la chimie verte est apparu dans le débat public il y a moins de quinze ans, mais il semble aujourd'hui stratégique pour le secteur. Loin d'une simple mise aux normes dictée par la régulation, il s'agit de choix industriels forts, qui ne se limitent pas au développement de nouveaux procédés mais engagent une réinvention des métiers de la chimie.

Vers une écologie industrielle

Business December 21st, 2011, François Grosse / Chargé de mission auprès du directeur général exécutif, Veolia Environnement

Pour avancer vers une économie durable, prélevant moins de ressources naturelles, on ne doit pas raisonner contre la croissance, mais avec elle. La question de la soutenabilité doit être abordée d'une manière dynamique. En partant d'une nouvelle modélisation des flux et des stocks du cycle de la matière, on peut imaginer l'économie de demain.

Le monde est sur le point de connaître une nouvelle révolution technologique: "l'Internet des Objets". La possibilité de connecter des ordinateurs entre eux a changé beaucoup de choses dans nos vies ; l'interconnexion de plus en plus forte entre les objets - des voitures, des réseaux électriques et même des toilettes connectés à internet - pourrait générer d'autres évolutions non moins profondes. Beaucoup d'observateurs prédisent que ces changements auront un impact positif sur notre santé, nous permettront de mener une vie plus confortable et plus sûre. Mais comme toute nouvelle technologie, elle présente aussi certains risques.

De plus en plus d'objets sont équipés d'émetteurs-récepteurs, acquérant ainsi la capacité de communiquer. Les réseaux d'information qui en résultent portent en eux la promesse de nouveaux modèles économiques, d'une amélioration des processus d'activité et d'une réduction des coûts et des risques.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89

français / english / 创瞰巴黎

3D printing is considered the new industrial revolution, likely to disrupt the behavior of consumers and manufacturers, involving relocation of production facilities, reconstruction of labor, changes in material applications and what's more, a growing challenge for intellectual property owners. To copy an object you only need two things: an electronic schematic of the product and a 3D printer. This means that anyone can reproduce any available design, putting designer brands in the same situation that the music industry found itself in when MP3 files hit the market.

Shaking and reshaping: industry 4.0 and industry 4.1

Business November 30th, 2015, Martina F. Ferracane / Policy Analyst, European Centre for International Political Economy (ECIPE)

"Although today's digital manufacturing machines are still in their infancy, they can already be used to make (almost) anything, anywhere. That changes everything," said Neil Gershenfeld, Director at MIT's Center for Bits and Atoms. Autonomous robotics, 3D printing, cloud computing, Internet of Things and sensor technologies are driving a paradigm shift in manufacturing. The new era of industrial production builds on the concept of cyber-physical systems. Consumers are expected to play an ever greater role in this new model.

From flowerpots to containers: a subtle anatomy of Internet of Things

Business September 8th, 2015, Sandy Verma / Senior Director of Asia Pacific for Internet of Things Solutions, AT & T

The Internet of Things (IoT) is essentially a network of physical objects connected via the Internet, a buzzword for a new technology landscape that is reshaping the way we live and work. But is its potential understood and are we prepared for a new wave of industrial revolution?

In February Elon Musk boldly predicted Tesla motors would go where no car company has ever gone before, to a $700 billion market valuation by 2025. To put that in perspective, Apple became the most valuable company in history when it reached a $700 billion market valuation in November 2014. Compared to the automobile industry, $700 billion dwarfs the market value of the five biggest public automobile companies. Together, Toyota, Volkswagen, BMW, Ford and Honda have a market cap of just $522 billion. Is Elon Musk crazy? Or is he planning something only he can see?

3D printing and IP rights: some issues, any solutions?

Industries December 16th, 2014, Fatima Ghilassene / Research Officer, Intellectual Property Observatory, INPI (National Institute for Industrial Property, France)

3D printer manufacturing technologies are not new, but what is new is increasing accessibility that follows suit to marketing of small printers at affordable prices. This democratization both fascinates and worries creators and designers as well as decision makers. Often described as the vector for a 3rd industrial revolution, 3D printing, however, does raise questions when it comes to intellectual property rights that the technology may undermine. Certain already existing technical and legal solutions could accompany more extensive use. Nonetheless, there will necessarily be a change in paradigm.

The circular economy, front-stage soon?

Business November 12th, 2014, Yves Legrain / Researcher, former member of France's Economical, Social and Environmental Council

In industrial spheres, the trend towards circular economy is drawing increasing closer attention. Some companies have identified in the recycling business an opportunity to develop new activities, while others see eco-design as a means to raise profit margins, while yet others see a way to re-think their corporate organization. Corporate image is part of the changing scene, but the circular economy concept is now a real industrial concern. Nonetheless, a lot remains to be done to make it fully operational. The challenge is now to see the concept reach maturity.

Electronic devices have become pervasive in our household equipment, our cars, our communication tools and indeed in almost every object that surrounds us in our private and professional spheres. Not only do they multiply, but they continue to decrease in size, to use less energy and cost less. To assemble such devices, the semi-conductor industries have perfected silicon-based technologies. However, they will soon be approaching the physical limits of solid state physics. To go beyond this barrier, they are already working on new approaches for nanometric level electronics.

In countries that have based their wealth on production, every discovery and innovation that potentially lower production costs attract very strong attention. Since 2007, the discovery and exploitation of shale gas and oil have put the USA energy industry back on the track to competitive procurement faced with competing nations who have been low costs champions for decades. The new question on the table is to ascertain whether 3D printing can have a comparable impact.

The MEMS revolution

Industries December 9th, 2013, Benedetto Vigna / Executive Vice President, General Manager, Analog, MEMS & Sensors Group, STMicroelectronics

MEMS are to the world of smartphones and tablets what transistors were to consumer electronics in the 1960s. They're everywhere! A series of technological breakthroughs and industrial gambles paved the way to a flourishing market. An insight into this revolution by one its key players, STMicro's Benedetto Vigna.

Ever since the electronic properties of silicon were discovered in the United States in the late 30s, it has been a well-known fact: a new material can change the world. Perhaps because it weighs less, is sturdier, provides better thermal and acoustic performance, lasts longer, or makes production and assembly easier. Every now and then, the scientific community announces a new miracle material successor to silicon and the 2010s already rustle with announcements about a very serious candidate: graphene, a two-dimensional crystal consisting of a single layer of carbon atoms, which is credited with exceptional potential.

Makers and DIY manufacturing

Business January 4th, 2013, Chris Anderson / Chairman, 3DRobotics

Just as the Internet enabled anyone with a computer to become an entrepreneur, today's newest technologies have spawned a do it yourself micro-manufacturing movement, so anyone can be both inventor and manufacturer. Chris Anderson's new book, Makers: The New Industrial Revolution, explains how all the pieces are coming together - from more affordable 3D printers to crowd-sourced designs - to create the conditions for a new way of manufacturing. In this interview with Knowledge@Wharton, Anderson talks about the ways in which technology is changing the limits of what inventors can do, what the Maker Movement is, why he started DIY Drones and how the new technologies will drive the global economy.

Green chemistry’s industrial strategies

Industries December 23rd, 2011, Pascal Juery / Group Executive Vice-President, Rhodia

It's been less than fifteen years since the issue of green chemistry has become a matter of public debate, yet it now seems to prove strategic for that industry. Far from being a mere compliance with standards dictated by regulations, this is a matter of strong industrial choices - choices by no means limited to developing new processes, but truly involving a major overhaul of the chemistry industry.

Moving towards industrial ecology

Business December 21st, 2011, François Grosse / Special Advisor to the COO, Veolia Environnement

To build a sustainable economy, consuming fewer natural resources, we need to think in terms of growth, not otherwise. The issue of sustainability should be tackled in a dynamic way. By setting a new model for the lifecycle of materials, we can project what the future's economic model could look like.

The world is on the brink of yet another technological revolution: "the Internet of Things". Just as the networking of computers led to multiple changes in our lives, the growing networking of things - connecting cars, power grids, even toilets to the Internet - may lead to other profound adjustments. Many forecasters say these changes will make us healthier, wealthier, and safer. But as with any new technology, there are also risks.

More objects are becoming embedded with sensors and gaining the ability to communicate. The resulting information networks promise to create new business models, improve business processes, and reduce costs and risks.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89