français / english / 上海交大巴黎高科评论

L’art indien de l’innovation

Society October 10th, 2016, Richard Robert / Directeur, Paris Innovation Review

Dans la géographie mondiale de l'innovation, l'Inde est à cheval sur deux continents. Ses ingénieurs ont largement contribué aux succès de la Silicon Valley : le père de la prise USB, celui de la puce Pentium d'Intel, le directeur général de Microsoft sont indiens, tout comme une partie du senior management de Google. La réussite de cette diaspora ne traduit pas seulement la qualité des ingénieurs indiens. Elle peut être mise en relation avec une culture d'innovation originale, qui s'exprime d'abord dans une étonnante capacité à renverser les concepts. Trois méta-innovations, et non des moindres, illustrent cette agilité intellectuelle : elles touchent aux marchés, à l'ingénierie, au management.

Pilotage de l’innovation: n’oubliez pas la veille juridique!

Business January 26th, 2016, Michaël Haddad / Président, X Open Innovation, Responsable du pôle Optique appliquée et Algorithmes, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

Les aspects légaux et réglementaires sont rarement cités lorsqu'on parle d'innovation. Ils jouent cependant un rôle majeur. L'analyse de l'environnement juridique est un enjeu clé dans le pilotage de l'innovation, qui permet à certaines entreprises de déployer des stratégies originales. Mais il y a des pièges.

Trois manières de piloter l’innovation

Business December 6th, 2015, Michaël Haddad / Président, X Open Innovation, Responsable du pôle Optique appliquée et Algorithmes, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

Qu'est-ce qui déclenche un projet d'innovation ? Si une littérature abondante existe sur le management et l'organisation de l'innovation, la question du moteur reste en suspens. Elle est pourtant capitale, si l'on considère que c'est l'avenir de la firme qui est en jeu. Mais qui doit imaginer cet avenir ? Est-ce aux équipes de R&D, au marketing, à la prospective de prendre l'initiative des projets ? À ces questions, il n'existe pas de réponse unique. Mais un ensemble de cas d'école permet de saisir trois modèles principaux.

Au cours du XXe siècle, les États et les grands organismes publics tels que la NASA ou le CEA ont joué un rôle majeur dans la chaîne de l'innovation. Internet lui-même est né grâce à des programmes publics, tout comme le GPS et de nombreuses autres technologies. Si l'État reste au centre du jeu dans la recherche scientifique, en matière d'innovation technologique son rôle est à réinventer.

8 principes éprouvés pour piloter l’innovation

Business January 29th, 2015, Rémi Maniak / Maître de conférences à Télécom Paristech et chercheur à l'Ecole polytechnique

Oui, il est possible de rationaliser l'effort d’innovation, en passant de la gestion d'un état d'équilibre au pilotage raisonné d'un déséquilibre permanent. Non, ce n'est pas aisé. Cela demande de réviser nos réflexes et nos outils installés, sans se laisser griser par les effets de mode. Bonne nouvelle: la recherche en sciences de gestion a identifié les principes de ce pilotage de l'innovation. En voici huit.

Scouting technologique: sur la piste des innovateurs cachés

Business November 30th, 2014, Michaël Haddad / Président, X Open Innovation, Responsable du pôle Optique appliquée et Algorithmes, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

Face à la multitude de technologies disponibles, à la complexité des produits et services qui va croissant dans une économie mondialisée, il ne semble plus possible pour une entreprise d'innover seule, aussi grande soit-elle. Mais comment identifier les bons partenaires puis suivre la collaboration au cours du temps? Comment faire en sorte que les échanges soient fructueux? C'est à ces questions que le scouting technologique essaie d'apporter des réponses. Bien développé, il ouvre sur l'intelligence technologique. Mais pour être efficace, le scouting implique une modification de l'organisation de l'entreprise autour de l'innovation.

Aujourd'hui capital-risqueur, l'ancien cadre dirigeant de Facebook se penche sur trois technologies dont il pense qu'elles vont améliorer la qualité de vie et la productivité. Il explique pourquoi la plupart des dirigeants sous-estiment les compétences techniques.

Un design management de l’innovation collaborative

Business June 27th, 2013, Tru Dô-Khac / Entrepreneur numérique, consultant en innovation et gouvernance numérique d'entreprise

Le design management est au cœur des transformations des entreprises depuis bientôt trente ans. Cette approche, qui consiste à placer la conception au centre des priorités stratégiques, trouve aujourd’hui un regain d'intérêt dans le contexte de l'innovation collaborative où il s'agit de produire avec des partenaires variés, dont font partie les consommateurs, une expérience client originale.

Les trois piliers de l’innovation

Business January 11th, 2013, Norbert Alter / Professeur de sociologie, université Paris-Dauphine, PSL Research University

L'innovation ne se réduit jamais à une bonne idée. C'est un processus, qui se joue pour l'essentiel dans l'appropriation de la nouveauté par ceux qui auront à la mettre en œuvre. On a curieusement tendance à négliger cette démarche d'appropriation, ou à ne la considérer que sous l'angle des freins et des obstacles. Comment, au contraire, valoriser et mobiliser les ressources internes des organisations ? En développant une culture de coopération, qui autorise la transgression, et fasse une place à l'émotion.

Le Modular Design, clé de l’innovation rapide?

Science and Technology May 23rd, 2012, Nicolas Bry / Directeur, Innovation Group - Orange Vallée

Beaucoup d'entreprises se sont tournées ces dernières années vers une accélération de leurs démarches d'innovation. Mais peut-on préserver le sens et la pertinence, tout en démultipliant l'impact et en accélérant ? C'est précisément l'enjeu de l'innovation par composants.

Les plus anciennes formes vivantes sont apparues il y a 3,8 milliards d'années: en matière de durabilité, la nature a une certaine d’avance sur les sociétés humaines. Chaque espèce doit sa survie à un processus d'adaptation naturelle, faite d'essais et d'erreurs, chargée d'enseignements et d'un savoir-faire de génie dont il serait dommage de ne pas s'inspirer: tel est le point de départ du biomimétisme. Ce qui pourrait sembler une simple lubie est au cœur de technologies de pointe, dans l'aéronautique ou la médecine.

L’innovation rapide

Business February 29th, 2012, Nicolas Bry / Directeur, Innovation Group - Orange Vallée

Dans une entreprise, l'innovation est le produit d'une circulation de connaissances entre la technologie, le marché, l'équipe d'innovation et les autres services de l'entreprise. Comment accélérer cette circulation au sein des grandes entreprises? Nicolas Bry (Orange – Innovation Marketing Group) suggère de créer de petites structures dédiées s'appuyant sur des professionnels de l'innovation et des méthodes de management spécifiques, et alignées sur les stratégies du groupe.

L’art méconnu de l’imitation

Business November 18th, 2011, Oded Shenkar / Professeur titulaire de la chaire Ford Motor Company en Global Business Management, The Ohio State University

Dans les écoles, les entreprises, la presse spécialisée, on ne jure que par l'innovation. Et si c'était un mythe? La clé du succès réside aussi dans l'art d'imiter. Les exemples sont sous nos yeux: ils s'appellent Apple, EasyJet, Wal-Mart, des firmes connues pour leur inventivité mais qui ont bâti leur réussite sur leur capacité à combiner innovation et imitation.

Open source: sortir des idées reçues

Business October 19th, 2011, Nordine Benkeltoum / Maître de conférence à l'Ecole centrale de Lille et chercheur associé au Centre de gestion scientifique (Mines ParisTech)

Le monde du logiciel libre reste mal connu et, lorsqu'on l'observe attentivement, il est plein de surprises. Sait-on par exemple que la moitié des contributeurs de l'open source sont rémunérés? La frontière entre marchand et gratuit est poreuse, et l'imaginaire des communautés cache des acteurs très divers.

Le sénat américain vient d'adopter une loi réformant le système des brevets, sans apaiser les polémiques qui agitent depuis une dizaine d'années les milieux académiques et la Silicon Valley. Les brevets, considère-t-on généralement, permettent de soutenir l'innovation. Vraiment?

Dans une économie qui se transforme à des vitesses de plus en plus rapides, l'innovation classique, incrémentale, a cessé d'être une protection suffisante contre l'obsolescence des produits ou la concurrence des nouveaux acteurs du marché qui veulent monter en gamme. Pour survivre, les entreprises doivent adopter un comportement révolutionnaire, l'innovation de rupture.

Nous rêvons d'un monde prévisible, fait de recettes de cuisine. Mais ce n'est pas notre monde... et heureusement: quelle serait la place laissée pour l'innovation et la création de valeur dans un monde prévisible ? Mais comment faire dans le désordre croissant ? Peut-on diriger en s'appuyant sur l'incertitude au lieu de lutter contre elle ? La réponse paradoxale est d'oublier le présent et de penser à partir du futur, de privilégier la stabilité du management... et de comprendre que l'incertitude est avant tout source d'espoir !

Le pouvoir du prototype

Science and Technology November 2nd, 2010, Sushi Suzuki / Professeur de Design à l'Ecole des Ponts ParisTech et co-fondateur de d.thinking Ponts ParisTech

Le prototypage a toujours fait partie intégrante du processus de conception et d'ingéniérie; mais les professionnels lui trouvent aujourd'hui de nouvelles applications, et mettent au point des méthodologies nouvelles pour profiter pleinement du potentiel des prototypes. Voici le premier volet d'une série sur le "design thinking" par les membres du groupe d.thinking Ponts Paris Tech.

Pour chaque iPod, iPhone vendu, des centaines de nouveaux produits technologiques sont des flops. Qu'est-ce qui différencie les gagnants des perdants ? Des spécialistes de ParisTech et de la Wharton School à Philadelphie qui ont étudié la diffusion des technologies estiment que plusieurs facteurs déterminent le succès d'un produit - et qu'avec la numérisation, le processus devient toujours plus complexe.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89

français / english / 上海交大巴黎高科评论

How to avoid the pitfalls of innovation in emerging markets

Business October 26th, 2016, Alok Bardiya / Director, Cisco Investments, Cisco India & SAARC

There was an idea that caught popular attention a few years ago: basic, affordable products from emerging markets for use in their home countries could eventually move up and disrupt global markets. But the record has been mixed. What does it take for successful innovation?

Innovation, the Indian Way

Society October 10th, 2016, Richard Robert / Executive Director, Paris Innovation Review

In the global geography of innovation, India is straddling two continents. Its engineers have contributed to the success of the Silicon Valley: the father of the USB socket, the inventor of the Intel Pentium chip, the general manager of Microsoft are Indian, as is part of the senior management at Google. The success of this Diaspora reflects the talents of Indian engineers, but it can also be linked with an original innovation culture, which expresses itself in an amazing ability to reverse concepts. Three meta-innovations illustrate this Indian way.

Innovation management: don’t forget about legal watch!

Business January 26th, 2016, Michaël Haddad / Chairman, X Open Innovation, Applied Optics & Algorithmics Pole Manager, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

Legal and regulatory aspects are rarely mentioned when discussing innovation management. But they do play a major role, and the analysis of the legal environment is a crucial issue. It allows smart organizations to implement original strategies… even though there are a number of pitfalls.

Push or pull? Three ways to drive innovation

Business December 6th, 2015, Michaël Haddad / Chairman, X Open Innovation, Applied Optics & Algorithmics Pole Manager, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

What are the triggers of an innovation project? Though there is extensive literature on innovation management, what exactly drives innovation remains unclear. And yet, it is a fundamental issue, considering that the future of the firm is at stake. Who should imagine this future and take the responsibility of initiating projects? R&D, marketing, prospective teams? There is no single answer. But a full range of business cases illustrate all three models.

During the 20th century Governments and public agencies such as NASA played a major role in the innovation chain. The Internet itself was born through public programs, just as GPS and many other game-changing technologies. But in recent years, questions arose over the efficiency of public efforts, challenged by smart, dynamic, powerful corporations such as Google, on the one hand, or bottom-up and open source models, on the other hand. Are Governments out of the game?

The 8 proven principles for managing innovation

Business January 29th, 2015, Rémi Maniak / Associate Professor at Telecom ParisTech and Researcher at Ecole Polytechnique

Yes, it is possible to rationalize the innovation effort, moving on from managing equilibrium to handling a constant imbalance. No, this is no easy matter. It requires that we revise - and fairly extensively - our natural reflexes and current tools, without slipping into fashionable fads. The good news is that research in management has now identified the principles needed to manage innovation. Here are eight of these principles.

Technology scouting: on the trail of hidden innovators

Business November 30th, 2014, Michaël Haddad / Chairman, X Open Innovation, Applied Optics & Algorithmics Pole Manager, L'Oréal Recherche & Innovation

With the proliferation of technologies and the growing complexity of products and services, it no longer seems possible for any company, as large as it may be, to innovate alone. How to identify the right partners and develop a partnership over time? How to ensure successful exchanges? Technology scouting strives to bring answers to these issues. If developed correctly, it paves the way to technological intelligence. However, effective scouting implies many changes in the organization of the company regarding innovation.

The venture investor and former Facebook executive examines technologies he thinks will improve the quality of life and economic output, and explains why most executives undervalue technical proficiency.

Design Management: guiding the way toward a truly collaborative innovation ecosystem

Business June 27th, 2013, Tru Dô-Khac / IT consultant, management designer and business author

Turning digital, the innovative company becomes collaborative, at both strategic and operational levels. The innovation policy moves from exclusion to collaboration, marketing from transactional to collaborative, IT governance from monolithic to differentiated… To drive change in strategy, organization and information systems, managers often use best practices ground on observation, measurement and analysis. But to address the behavior of the company, its postures and image, specific skills are needed to design meaning and emotion.

Sharing ideas… and emotions: why innovation needs cooperation

Business January 11th, 2013, Norbert Alter / Professor of Sociology, University Paris-Dauphine, PSL Research University

Try as you may, innovation can never be reduced to a mere good idea. Innovation is a process, which is played chiefly in the way those who are to implement it can successfully make novelty theirs. Quite often management tends to overlook this process of appropriation, or to consider it only in terms of hindrances and obstacles. How, on the contrary, can the internal resources of organizations be enhanced and mobilized? The answer is straightforward: by developing a culture of cooperation, which allows for some degree of transgression… and also makes way for emotion.

Is modular design the key to fast innovation?

Science and Technology May 23rd, 2012, Nicolas Bry / Senior Vice-President, Orange Innovation Group

In recent years, many firms have sped up their innovation processes. But can we protect the meaning and relevance of innovation while accelerating and increasing its impact? This is exactly the issue challenged by component innovation.

The most ancient living beings appeared 3.8 billion years ago: in terms of sustainability, Nature is far ahead from human societies… Each species owes its survival to a natural process of adaptation, a series of trials and errors that led to an expertise and creative genius which are available, for us to use as an inexhaustible source of inspiration: that's the starting point of biomimicry. What could seem at first like an extravagant whim is in fact at the heart of high-end technologies such as aeronautics or medicine.

Is there a model for fast innovation?

Business February 29th, 2012, Nicolas Bry / Senior Vice-President, Orange Innovation Group

Innovation is the result of constant information exchanges between technology, the markets, an innovation team, as well as other departments of the firm. How can we speed up these exchanges within big companies? Nicolas Bry (Orange – Innovation Marketing Group) suggests creating small dedicated structures led by innovation professionals with specific management methods. Then the question becomes: how to insert their work into group strategies?

The art of imitation

Business November 18th, 2011, Oded Shenkar / Ford Motor Company Chair in Global Business Management, The Ohio State University

Whether in business schools, firms or in the specialized press, innovation is a highly praised value. What if it were a myth? The road to success could also lie in the art of imitation. The examples stand before us: Apple, EasyJet, and Wal-Mart are well-known innovative companies. And yet, their success was largely built on their ability to combine both innovation and imitation.

Open-source: untangling a web of assumptions

Business October 19th, 2011, Nordine Benkeltoum / Research Associate, CGS Mines ParisTech, PSL Research University

The free software movement when viewed from afar remains poorly understood but on closer inspection reveals a web of surprises. Who knows that around half of all "volunteers" are actually being paid for their contributions? The frontier between commercial and non-commercial activity has become somewhat blurred and the idealized vision of a utopian community actually hides an extremely wide range of actors and entities.

In 2011 the U.S. Senate passed a bill reforming the patent system, without appeasing controversies that for the past ten years have been agitating academic circles as well as the Silicon Valley. Patents are generally considered to fuel innovation. But do they?

In an economic climate of constant transformation at ever increasing speed, the classical model of innovation, incremental by design, no longer ensures survival against the menace of obsolescence. As new competitors arrive on the market and constantly raise the stakes in terms of quality the continued existence of an enterprise rests on its ability to create ruptures with the past and move forward in a constant state of revolutionary innovation.

Efforts to forecast our future fall short of a perfect dream where events can be weighed and measured with the predictability more commonly found in cookbooks the world over. If predictions could be made with the same degree of certainty that a baker employs then where would we find the creative drive to innovate ? In an increasingly uncertain world is it even possible for random acts of genius ? Can we embrace chaos and harness its power ? The paradox is that to plan for the future we must discard the limits of our present. When we accept this seeming contradiction the need for a stable hand is clear if we are to successfully identify the sea that acts as the ultimate source of attraction.

The power of prototyping

Science and Technology November 2nd, 2010, Sushi Suzuki / Instructor of design innovation at École des Ponts ParisTech and co-founder of d.thinking Ponts ParisTech

Prototyping has always been an integral step in design and engineering, but practitioners are now expanding its use to various new applications and devising new methodologies to unleash the true power of prototyping. This is part one of the series on design thinking by the members of d.thinking Ponts ParisTech.

For every iPod, iPhone -or now, perhaps, iPad- hundreds of new technological products don't quite make it. What separates the winners from the also-rans? Scholars at ParisTech and the Wharton School in Philadelphia who have studied technology adoption say a variety of factors determine whether a product becomes a hit- and that with digitalization, the process is becoming more complex all the time.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89