français / english / 创瞰巴黎

C’est l’un des aspects les plus spectaculaires de la révolution numérique: les entreprises qui ont un modèle de croissance exponentielle l’emportent sur celles qui ont un modèle de croissance linéaire. Les jeux sont-ils faits? Google, Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft et Apple dévoreront-ils la richesse du monde? Ou bien l’avènement de la concurrence exponentielle ouvre-t-il des opportunités à des entreprises plus nombreuses?

Les plateformes du futur

Industries May 24th, 2017, Dan Abelow / Inventeur, consultant en technologie et auteur

La concurrence, à l’ère numérique, est d’une intensité inouïe. Pour défendre ses positions, une entreprise s’affronte désormais à des stratèges contrôlant des plateformes d’un milliard d'utilisateurs. Cependant une nouvelle rupture pourrait aboutir à un renversement de la pyramide, remettant ces utilisateurs au centre du jeu au lieu de les manipuler. L’avènement d’un nouvel écosystème d’entreprises « people first » serait une bonne nouvelle pour tout le monde. Quelle forme prendrait-il ? A-t-il des chances de se réaliser ?

Digital labor: les limites d’une pensée critique

Society April 4th, 2017, Dominique Cardon / Professeur à Sciences Po/Medialab, chercheur associé au Centre d'études des mouvements sociaux, EHESS/PSL Research University

Dans l'analyse et la compréhension d'Internet, la position de la sociologie doit être défendue: face à la tendance à l'économisation généralisée, elle offre des ressources et des références qui permettent de varier les points de vue, de considérer les pratiques sous un angle différent. Cette différence est salutaire. Mais dans le regard qu'elle porte sur Internet, la sociologie est elle-même un espace de débat et, osons le dire, de contradictions. Le digital labor en offre une illustration éclairante.

Revenu de base universel: les contradictions d’une idée simple

Society December 8th, 2016, Charles Wyplosz / Professeur d'économie internationale et Directeur de l'International Centre for Money and Banking Studies, Graduate Institute, Genève

La tentation d'une réponse simple à une question compliquée est souvent irrésistible, mais c'est aussi une promesse d'échec. Qui ne rêve d'éliminer la pauvreté? Malheureusement, le chemin du rêve à la réalité est parsemé d'embuches et les raisonnements trop simples, ou trop confus, sont un bien mauvais guide.

Uberisation: le temps de la contre-attaque

Business January 21st, 2016, Christophe Deshayes / Conférencier et consultant

Les entreprises redoutent désormais de se faire uberiser. Or, cette menace, annoncée depuis l'émergence du web il y a vingt ans, ne peut être considérée ni comme une nouveauté, ni comme une surprise. Pourquoi une telle impréparation? Simple refus de voir ou compréhension trop superficielle du phénomène numérique? Dans tous les cas, comprendre vraiment ce qui se joue n'a jamais été aussi urgent pour organiser la contre-attaque.

Faut-il craindre l’uber-économie? – 1 – Extension du domaine du marché

Society September 23rd, 2015, François Meunier / Président, Alsis Conseil, professeur associé de finance, ENSAE ParisTech

Derrière les multiples affaires Uber qui défraient la chronique dans nombre de pays, on assiste à l'émergence d’une économie collaborative qui fascine, et parfois inquiète, d'autant plus que ses contours sont encore flous. Du point de vue de l'économiste, elle se laisse décrire comme une extension du domaine du marché. Des échanges qui relevaient jusqu'ici de l'économie informelle passent dans le domaine de l'économie formelle. Bonne nouvelle ? Oui. Mais cette transition rapide et incomplète pose de multiples problèmes.

Faut-il craindre l’uber-économie? – 2 – Concurrence vs. monopoles

Society September 23rd, 2015, François Meunier / Président, Alsis Conseil, professeur associé de finance, ENSAE ParisTech

L'émergence d’une économie collaborative se laisse décrire comme une extension du domaine du marché. Celle-ci a ses revers, désormais bien identifiés. La concurrence est plus forte, mais est-ce une concurrence loyale ? Et les places de marché qui organisent cette concurrence ne se retrouvent-elles pas en situation de monopole ?

L’économie collaborative, ou comment le vent de la confiance a changé de direction

Society May 28th, 2015, Monique Dagnaud / Directrice de recherche, EHESS, PSL Research University, Institut Marcel Mauss

L'économie collaborative a le vent en poupe. Ses adeptes sont toujours plus nombreux, et le discours utopique porté par ses promoteurs est dans l'air du temps. Mais le modèle a son revers.

L’entreprise du futur: vers de nouvelles propositions de valeur

Business February 19th, 2015, Nicolas Colin / Cofondateur et associé, TheFamily

Les modèles d'affaires qui émergent aujourd’hui offrent l'image d'une hyperconcurrence. Dans l'économie numérique, il y a toujours mieux et moins cher ailleurs, et cette dynamique déborde aujourd'hui les frontières du Net. Comment une entreprise peut-elle survivre dans cette jungle, comment peut-elle se distinguer? De nouvelles logiques émergent, de nouvelles propositions de valeur qui pourraient devenir la clé du monde économique de demain.

Uber et Airbnb ont eu quelques soucis avec les autorités récemment. Marquées par une forte culture libertaire, les entreprises de l'économie du partage ont parfois du mal à accepter des règles qu'elles soupçonnent de surtout servir à protéger certains secteurs de la concurrence des nouveaux entrants. Les régulateurs tentent de leur côté de rappeler que les règles ont un sens. Les deux mondes peuvent-ils se rencontrer?

ParisTech Review se passionne pour les économies alternatives, celles qui renversent les modèles et déplacent les concepts. Voici sept articles, publiés entre 2011 et aujourd'hui, qui présentent sept grandes tendances.

Quelle forme prendra l'entreprise à l'horizon 2030? À cette question, toutes les voix autorisées convergent pour donner, sinon une réponse, du moins, une tonalité: face à une instabilité qui sera devenue la règle et non plus l'exception, confrontée à l'écosystème entièrement nouveau apporté par les technologies numériques, l'entreprise devra évoluer en profondeur pour rester performante, durable et résiliente. Selon quels axes?

Bienvenue dans l’économie des solutions

Industries April 24th, 2014, Michèle Debonneuil / Economiste senior, Caisse des dépôts et consignations

On est aujourd'hui capable d'avoir en temps réel toutes sortes d'informations sur les besoins de chaque consommateur. Il est possible de les satisfaire avec des produits novateurs qui, n'étant ni seulement des biens ni seulement des services, peuvent être appelés des solutions. Autour de ces solutions s'inventent des modèles d'affaire originaux, et plus largement une économie nouvelle.

Dans les pays développés, près de 30% des actifs sont aujourd'hui indépendants ou employés à temps partiel. Sujet d'inquiétude, la nouvelle réalité présente aussi des avantages incontestables. Dans un ouvrage qui fait beaucoup de bruit aux Etats-Unis, Ryan Coonerty et Jeremy Neuner montrent que bien compris et maîtrisés, les changements à l'œuvre pourraient donner des existences plus productives et plus heureuses.

L'obsolescence programmée n'a pas bonne presse : les uns dénoncent un crime contre l'environnement, les autres une filouterie. Un examen attentif montre toutefois que ce modèle industriel n'a pas que des inconvénients. On a même pu y voir, lors de la Grande Dépression, un remède miracle contre la crise !

L’économie de fonctionnalité, ou comment se passer de voiture et de photocopieur

Business May 28th, 2013, Yoann Sidoli / Doctorant en sociologie, laboratoire SENSE d'Orange Labs / Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis

L'économie de fonctionnalité consiste à vendre l'accès aux fonctions d'un bien, plutôt que le bien lui-même. Xerox ou Autolib en sont des modèles bien connus. Cette mutation considérable bouleverse trois domaines : calcul de la valeur, propriété et rapport au temps.

L’économie de la multitude

Society June 7th, 2012, Nicolas Colin & Henri Verdier / Cofondateur et associé, TheFamily & Directeur d'Etalab

La révolution numérique n'est pas seulement affaire de technologies. Impulsée par des entrepreneurs qui sont aussi des innovateurs radicaux, elle touche d'abord aux échanges sociaux. L'économie marchande, qui est l'une des dimensions dans lesquelles se jouent ces échanges, est impactée en profondeur, et l'onde de choc tend aujourd’hui à sortir des écrans pour toucher le reste du tissu économique. La notion de multitude permet de saisir ce qui est en jeu dans ce bouleversement.

Aujourd’hui, qu’est-ce qu’une externalité?

Society March 11th, 2011, Yann Moulier-Boutang / Professeur de sciences économiques, Université de Technologie de Compiègne

Les interactions multiples qui caractérisent les situations complexes ne sont que très imparfaitement appréhendées par le marché. Loin de concerner des situations limites, elles constituent la partie immergée de l'iceberg de l'économie. Les externalités recèlent les gisements de valeur de l'interactivité humaine sans commune mesure avec ce que le capitalisme a exploité jusqu'à l'ère du numérique. Au niveau macroéconomique, comme à celui de l'entreprise, les externalités occupent désormais une place centrale.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89

français / english / 创瞰巴黎

To remain a leader, a company must out-perform the world’s smartest executives at billion-user platforms. But a new disruption could produce a flip of today’s pyramid to people-first. That would help everyone advance, and add a people-first ecosystem that makes everyone a winner, with many people-first companies at the top.

Digital labor and the limits of critical thinking

Society April 4th, 2017, Dominique Cardon / Associate Professor of Sociology at Medalab, Sciences Po, Associate Researcher at Centre d'études des mouvements sociaux, EHESS/PSL Research University

In the analysis and understanding of the Internet, the role of sociology needs to be defended: facing a widespread tendency to economization, it offers resources and references that allow to change perspectives and view practices from another angle. This difference is healthy. But let's face it: in the way it conceives the Internet, the sociological debate is itself beset with contradictions. Digital labor provides an illustrative case.

Universal basic income: the contradictions of a simple idea

Society December 8th, 2016, Charles Wyplosz / Professor of International Economics and Director of the International Centre for Money and Banking Studies, Graduate Institute, Geneva

While certainly tempting, providing a simple answer to a complicated question is a straight road to failure. Ever since our alleged ancestors, Adam and Eve, were cast out of heaven, we all dream of a world where we will live a happy life, free from material contingencies. This dream is so deeply rooted that we embrace it immediately. Whether left-wing or right-wing, advocates of universal basic income generate a great deal of enthusiasm. Who wouldn't dream of eradicating poverty? Unfortunately, the path to dreams is strewn with pitfalls and overly simple or confusing reasoning gives improper advice.

Uberization: will the empire strike back?

Business January 21st, 2016, Christophe Deshayes / Speaker and Consultant

Henceforth, many companies are afraid of getting uberized. Now, this danger, which has its roots in the emergence of the web twenty years ago, can be considered neither as a novelty nor a surprise. So why is the corporate world so unprepared? A simple matter of denial or an overly superficial understanding of digital technology? In any case, it has never been so urgent for the corporate world to understand what is going on. Be it only to prepare the counter-attack.

Making sense of the Uber economy – 1 – Share? Better talk of a market expansion

Society September 23rd, 2015, François Meunier / President, Alsis Conseil, Associate Professor of Finance, ENSAE ParisTech

Behind the proliferation of Uber stories hitting the headlines in many countries, the emergence of a sharing economy fascinates, and sometimes worries us, especially because of its blurry boundaries. From the perspective of an economist, it can be described as a market expansion. Exchanges that previously fell within the scope of informal economy are now an integral part of formal economy. It that good news? Yes it is. But this rapid and incomplete transition also raises many problems.

Making sense of the Uber economy – 2 – Competition vs. monopolies

Society September 23rd, 2015, François Meunier / President, Alsis Conseil, Associate Professor of Finance, ENSAE ParisTech

From the perspective of an economist, the sharing economy can be described as a market expansion. Among the downsides, which are now well identified, competition is stronger: but is it still fair competition? And don't the marketplaces that organize this competition find themselves in a situation of monopoly?

Sharing economy: how the wind of trust has changed direction

Society May 28th, 2015, Monique Dagnaud / Emerita Research Director, EHESS, PSL Research University, Institut Marcel Mauss

The sharing economy has wind in its sails. Its proponents are growing in numbers and the utopian narrative disseminated by its promoters is currently in vogue. But there is another side to the coin.

The future of entreprise: towards new value proposals

Business February 19th, 2015, Nicolas Colin / Co-founder and Partner, TheFamily

Business models that emerge today outline a world of hyper-competition: in the digital economy, it's always possible to find both better and cheaper elsewhere. Now, this tendency is spreading beyond the borders of the Net. How can a company survive in this ruthless world? How can it possibly stand out from others? New trends are emerging, new value proposals that could become the cornerstone of tomorrow's economy.

Uber and Airbnb have undergone regulatory setbacks lately. But as regulators continue to crack the whip, there is little sign they will be able to stem the tide of popularity for these sharing services. Should the very idea of regulation evolve? It should not, at least, exist to protect entrenched industries and shut out competition. But companies like Uber, who have very strong Libertarian streaks, may have to make a move too. Will both sides learn to play together?

ParisTech Review has a passion for alternative and disruptive economic models, those that may shape tomorrow's economy. Here are seven articles, published between 2011 and today, presenting seven major innovative models.

Come year 2030, what will business enterprises look like? Almost every qualified answer points in the same direction, or at least provides a foreseeable trend: if as predicted instability becomes the rule and not the exception, and in a context of an entirely new ecosystem stemming from pervasive digital technologies, business enterprises will have to evolve quite considerably if they wish to remain efficient, sustainable and resilient. What factors come to bear here?

Goodbye services, goodbye goods: welcome to the solutions economy

Business April 24th, 2014, Michèle Debonneuil / Senior Economist, Caisse des dépôts et consignations

Enterprises are now able to collect all kind of real-time information about the needs of each consumer. They can provide innovative products that are neither goods nor services but something else, in between, that could be called solutions. Around these solutions we are witnessing the emergence of original business models, and more generally, of a new economy.

A growing segment of the workplace is no longer tied to a single, full-time employer. In the US, as many as 30% of those in today's job market are either self-employed or part-time, and the largest companies report that 30% of their procurement dollars are spent on contingent or fractional workers. While raising concerns, the forces reshaping the nature of work can result in more productive, happier, and sustainable lives.

Planned obsolescence has an infamous reputation: some denounce a crime against the environment, others, a swindle. A careful examination, however, shows that this business model is not all bad - and it even came to perform, during the Great Depression, as a miracle cure against the crisis!

Sustainable development: can functional economy fit square pegs in round holes?

Business May 28th, 2013, Yoann Sidoli / Ph. D. candidate in sociology, SENSE laboratory of Orange Labs / University of Nice Sophia Antipolis

Economists, as well as companies, increasingly care about the ecologic crisis. Various approaches are emerging that all strive to reduce the environmental impacts of the production and consumption of manufactured goods. Among them, functional economy belongs to the powerful trend of servitization of products. It triggers three dramatic mutations, regarding value estimation, ownership and the relation to time.

The economics of the multitude

Society June 7th, 2012, Nicolas Colin & Henri Verdier / Co-founder, TheFamily & Director, Etalab

The digital revolution is not only a matter of technologies. The players involved can be described as radical innovators, whose work has a direct impact on social exchanges - from friendship to trade. The shock wave is gradually spilling out of our screens and hitting the rest of the economy. The concept of multitude helps us grasp what is at stake.

What defines externality today?

Society March 11th, 2011, Yann Moulier-Boutang / Professor of Economics, University of Technology of Compiègne

The multiple interactions that underlie complex situations are poorly understood by the market approach. For economists they should represent the submerged portion of an iceberg that is much larger than it appears. Externalities are the visible manifestation of untapped potential and herald rich seams of value that have bubbled just under the firmament of human interaction since the dawn of the digital age. Make no mistake, at the level of individual enterprise as well as the wider economy, externalities will occupy a central role for the foreseeable future.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89