français / english / 创瞰巴黎

Dans un monde de liens faibles, qui se dénouent et se renouent constamment, la communication est en première ligne. En montrant leur capacité à répondre à l'instabilité et aux paradoxes, ses métiers pourront convertir un progrès menaçant en une occasion de redonner tout son sens à leur activité, en inscrivant l'entreprise dans un récit du bien commun. Mais la communication du futur ne peut pas faire l’économie d'un changement de modèle.

Le manager du futur

Business November 28th, 2014, Bernard Ramanantsoa / Directeur général, HEC Paris

Faut-il imaginer, à l'horizon 2030, un nouveau leadership? Même épaulés par les technologies de Big Data, managers et dirigeants vont devoir affronter une complexité et une incertitude croissantes. L'idée d'un one best way, unique et salvateur, appartient au passé. L'autorité ne viendra plus du savoir. Quelles seront les qualités et les compétences des managers de demain?

Avec les progrès rapides des technologies de l'information, un nouveau rapport au savoir apparaît, qui modifie l'idée même de compétence : ce que sait le salarié compte moins que ce qu'il peut trouver et, surtout, ce qu'il peut partager. Travailler seul crée moins de valeur que travailler en équipe. Les hiérarchies s'estompent, la collaboration devient capitale. Dans ces conditions, le salarié cesse d'être vu seulement comme un levier de productivité. Sa performance personnelle continue à compter, mais on s'intéresse aussi et peut-être davantage à son aptitude à entrer dans une dynamique et à la faire vivre. Il peut être valorisé pour sa créativité, son aptitude à l'innovation, son empathie et sa curiosité intellectuelle.

Les compétences mathématiques sont devenues stratégiques pour les entreprises et les plus avancées mobilisent des scientifiques de haut niveau, aux prises avec des questions théoriques fondamentales. Mais le rôle de plus en plus crucial dévolu aux matheux s'accompagne d'exigences nouvelles, et de responsabilités inédites.

C'est une de ces idées folles dont raffole la Californie, mais celle-ci sonnait comme un cri d'alarme. Pour combler le déficit d'ingénieurs dans la Silicon Valley, de jeunes entrepreneurs proposaient d'amarrer dans les eaux internationales, au large de San Francisco, une ville flottante capable d'accueillir 2000 ingénieurs originaires du monde entier et sans visa américain... Une poire pour étancher l'inextinguible soif de matière grise des États-Unis, un pays où le peu d'appétence des étudiants pour les études scientifiques et techniques prend les proportions d'une véritable crise stratégique. Et ailleurs ?

Pourquoi n’y a-t-il pas plus de femmes ingénieures?

Society September 29th, 2010, Richard Robert / Directeur, Paris Innovation Review

Le métier d'ingénieur resterait-il une affaire d'hommes ? Pas partout. La Chine compte environ 40% d'ingénieures, et dans l'URSS des années 1980 les femmes représentaient 58% des effectifs. Mais dans les pays occidentaux et une bonne partie des économies émergentes, la féminisation de la profession reste très lente et elle semble aujourd'hui trouver une limite. Ce palier inquiète les autorités politiques. La Commission européenne pointe depuis dix ans les risques de pénuries d'ingénieurs, appelant les Etats-membres à puiser plus largement dans le vivier des talents féminins. En Australie, en Inde, la presse s'est emparée du sujet. Le US Bureau of Labor Statistics a prévenu l'an dernier que la demande d'ingénieurs informaticiens allait croître de 36% d'ici 2012 pour les seuls Etats-Unis. Il semble urgent dans ces conditions de former davantage de femmes. En commençant par se demander où sont les points de blocage.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89

français / english / 创瞰巴黎

Communication is at the forefront of a world of weak ties that form and break up uninterruptedly. By showing their ability to respond to instability and paradoxes, specialists may convert a threatening progress into an opportunity to give a full meaning to their activity: integrate the company into a narrative of common good. But communication of the future will have to reinvent itself.

Should we imagine, come the 2030 horizon, new forms of entrepreneurial leadership? Even with the support of Big Data technologies, future managers and business leaders will have to cope with increasing complexity and uncertainty. The credo of there being a single one-best-way already belongs the past. Authority will no longer depend on who owns the knowledge. So, what will the skills and qualities of tomorrow's managerial class look like?

With the rapid advances in information technology, a new approach to knowledge is emerging which changes the very idea of skillfulness: what employees know matters less than what they are able to find, and, more relevantly, what they are able to share. Working alone creates less value than teamwork. Hierarchies tend to fade out, while collaboration becomes paramount. In these circumstances, the employees cease to be seen only as a productivity lever. Their personal performance continues to count, but now companies are also interested, and perhaps even more, in their ability to enter a dynamic and to nurture it. The employees can be valued for their creativity, capacity to innovate, their empathy and their intellectual curiosity.

A new golden dawn for corporate maths?

Science and Technology May 13th, 2014, Jean-Pierre Bourguignon / President of the European Research Council

Mathematical skills have become strategic for the business world and the most advanced companies hire high level scientists who tackle the underlying, fundamental, theoretical questions. However, this increasingly vital role of the boffins dedicated maths specialists often brings with it new demands and unforeseen responsibilities.

Here we have yet another of those crazy ideas that excites California, but this one potentially sounds a shade more ominous. In order to meet the shortfall of qualified engineers in Silicon Valley, a group of young entrepreneurs of the Golden State have proposed to anchor a floating city in international waters, off the Californian coast, capable of accommodating 2 000 engineers from all round the world, none of whom having a US entry visa. This would cut the dire and endless thirst for grey matter in the USA, a country where young students are shunning scientific and technical courses. Here we are witnessing a situation that is taking on the proportions of a national, strategic crisis. Other countries, other difficulties. But eveywhere the same question arises: how to train tomorrow's engineers?

Why aren’t there more women engineers?

Society September 29th, 2010, Richard Robert / Executive Director, Paris Innovation Review

Is engineering destined to remain a man's world? Not everywhere. In China, 40% of engineers are women and in the USSR of the 1980s, women accounted for 58% of the engineering workforce. But in Western countries, and in a large number of emerging economies, the feminization of the profession continues to be very slow and now seems to have reached its limit. This plateau is of concern to policy experts. For the last 10 years, the European Commission has highlighted the risks related to the shortage of engineers and has called on member states to draw more widely on the pool of female talent. In Australia and India, the press has taken up the matter. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics warned last year that the demand for computer engineers would see an increase of 36% by the year 2012 in the United States alone. It seems urgent in these conditions to train more women. But first, one has to ask what the obstacles are.

www.parisinnovationreview.com

This content is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
You are free to share, copy, distribute and transmit this content

Logo creative commons

5 quai Voltaire 75007 Paris, France - Email : contact@parisinnovationreview.com / Landline : +33 1 44 50 32 89